Should I move to London? Please help me decide :)

inky

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi, I would like to tap into the collective wisdom of this board to help with a difficult decision. I'm a 42-year-old software engineer who is more than likely going to retire with a paid-off house in 2015.

I've recently been offered a position with my company's London office. The job would be similar to what I'm already doing. They have offered me a raise to help compensate for the higher cost of living as well as financial assistance with the move. I would be moving with few possessions other than clothes and renting a furnished flat. I love London, lived there for a few years after university, and always wanted to go back.

My hesitations are that I don't want to have to sell my beautiful house, nor do I want to rent it out to strangers. The thought of the move is exhausting, especially when coupled with my already stressful job here. I keep trying to tell myself it would be worth it though when it was all done.

Although I don't consider myself to be a materialistic person, I think I would also miss my possessions! It wouldn't be worth it to ship them over, so I'd essentially be starting over there with just a few cheap basics.

Financially even with the raise this would not be a great move. It would likely set back my retirement plans several years, particularly if I sell the house at a loss. I would probably need to take another job in the States when coming back to pay my relocation costs and bridge me over until I can build up a cash buffer and get ready for retirement.

Any thoughts gratefully received. :)