What is your pet peeve of the day? -- 2021

Subscriptions to anything are so hard to cancel. Last year I got a great deal on a subscription to the Orange County Register. One year, Sunday delivery of a real paper with daily access to the electronic edition.

A year goes by, my subscription expires and they don't have my credit card or anything to charge. They call me every day for a week trying to get me to resubscribe, the deal is fine, but I don't want them to have my CC number because I KNOW that it will be hard to unsub.

Today I get an letter that my account is past due. "Please remit within ten days to avoid further collection efforts."
I haven't received a paper or had access to the electronic version since my year's subscription ended. What the hell?

Subscriptions to anything are so hard to cancel. Last year I got a great deal on a subscription to the Orange County Register. One year, Sunday delivery of a real paper with daily access to the electronic edition.

A year goes by, my subscription expires and they don't have my credit card or anything to charge. They call me every day for a week trying to get me to resubscribe, the deal is fine, but I don't want them to have my CC number because I KNOW that it will be hard to unsub.

Today I get an letter that my account is past due. "Please remit within ten days to avoid further collection efforts."
I haven't received a paper or had access to the electronic version since my year's subscription ended. What the hell?

May I suggest getting a credit card from a bank that offers single use virtual cards to go along with the actual physical use card. I use the ENO virtual cards from Capital One. I give them the virtual number, and then make sure to lock it before anything renews. You can even schedule the lock down date in advance. Virtual numbers are usually limited to just one company, thus are useless to CC thieves.

I suppose they can still try to intimidate you, but at least they don't have your money.