when to replace heat pump HVAC?

escape

Dryer sheet wannabe
The 2.5 ton 11 SEER Trane heat pump that was installed in 2007 (14 years old) required 3 and 1/2 lbs of refrigerant (the really nasty old stuff). Local HVAC guy will refund 60% of cost of refrigerant if I replace with a new system within a month. I'm considering replacing with a Run Tru, which is made by Trane same warranty - same price but higher SEER.

I have NO experience with HVAC heat pumps. Kind advice would be appreciated particularly about:
1. how risky is it to just burn the one I have out at this point. Some days the temps top 90 F with 1000% humidity and then in the winter some days are well below freezing and given current supply chain issues it might take a week to get it replaced;
2. Thoughts about how much i might save with a new one. I have solar panels that currently cover about 1/2 my electrical costs;
3. Any experience with Run Tru? Bryant (made by Carrier)?
4. Anything else that might help me?

Thank you!

What is the problem? I had a low freon problem maybe 6 years ago, got the whole sales pitch for a new system, but added 1# of freon and it ran for three years. Then low freon again, same pitch, added 3# this time, still running fine today. System is about 28YO.

Did they also find the leak and repair it? That’s a lot of refrigerant. Heat pumps wear our quicker since they run year round. Our builder grade Goodman unit was done after 12 yrs. Can’t recall what failed. Newer heat pumps don’t use the backup mode ($$$) as much as older units (so I’m told). Id get 3 quotes and lean towards replacing.

Did they seal/solder/braze the hole that leaked the refrigerant ? If they did, you could get years out of the old one.