FDIC insurance details

Finance Dave

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Assume I'm a single person for this issue.

Let's say I have $250k worth of JP Morgan CDs in my Fidelity account, which is covered under FDIC rules.

What if I also buy $50k worth of JP Morgan CDs through my bank's offerings? Would that be a different "ownership category" according to FDIC rules, and therefore I'd still be covered in total if JP Morgan failed?

Or, since those investments are all in the same bank (JP Morgan), would they be added across my various accounts (retirement and banking) and therefore I'd not be covered for the $50k overage?

There is Morgan Stanley Trust in NY, which is different from Morgan Stanley Bank in UT, according to depositaccounts.com

I believe the limits are per account and not per bank, so you'd be covered.

I am not a lawyer or CPA.

I believe the limits are per account and not per bank, so you'd be covered.

I am not a lawyer or CPA.

It is "per depositor" per bank.

If the accounts are titled the same, then only the $250k is covered.

The fact that the purchases were made through two different channels means nothing - the $250k total is all that is covered for an individual because it is the same bank. Differentiating by "account" is incorrect. By your reasoning, you could have multiple savings accounts at the same bank, and so long as none were over $250k they would all be fully covered, and that is incorrect. It is $250k combined.

Last edited:
It is "per depositor" per bank.

If the accounts are titled the same, then only the $250k is covered.

The fact that the purchases were made through two different channels means nothing - the $250k total is all that is covered for an individual because it is the same bank. Differentiating by "account" is incorrect. By your reasoning, you could have multiple savings accounts at the same bank, and so long as none were over $250k they would all be fully covered, and that is incorrect. It is $250k combined.