Relevance of Closing Costs on Downsizing Decision

Trooper

Full time employment: Posting here.
DW and I are retired and contemplating whether to downsize soon. We are in an approximately 3,000 square foot home now and looking for places in the 2,200 square foot range. Primary objectives would be to reduce the maintenance burden.

Realtor commissions and various other selling costs will amount to ~$40K. Assuming we will eventually sell our house - if not now then at some point 5-10 years down the road - are these costs relevant in the decision? My first thought was: I could buy a lot of maintenance for $40K, so why not stay in our current home? But...if we need to pay it anyway it's not really a cost that goes away.

Any thoughts from those who have wrestled with this?

I studied this and decided it's better to budget for the maintenance since we really like it where we are. I think the market has set a trap for downsizing baby boomers so the only way it works is if you move to lower COL area. Besides closing costs existing home has tax advantage over replacement home.

DW and I are retired and contemplating whether to downsize soon. We are in an approximately 3,000 square foot home now and looking for places in the 2,200 square foot range. Primary objectives would be to reduce the maintenance burden.

I think some other objectives might come before that one.

Where do you see yourselves living in ten years? Is the current location a good one as you get older?

If your big concern is reducing the maintenance, maybe you don't really want to merely downsize, but switch from a SFH to a condo?

Looks to me as if you might be just nibbling away at the edges of the situation. Better to consider all aspects.

I think some other objectives might come before that one.

Where do you see yourselves living in ten years? Is the current location a good one as you get older?