Am I Being Forgetful or Distracted?

I've had most of the examples and not been too concerned. But what's ALWAYS bugged me is my inability to remember names, and also faces. Even talked to Dr. about it once, he said no big deal and more frequent in men. I had a successful career, but I was always haunted by this failure to remember people and their names. Go figure. I've known people (one politician in particular) who could walk into a restaurant and wander around and call out names and it would just amaze me.

As far as faces go, I used to work in a restaurant as a server, and I almost always remembered if the customer was a good tipper or not. (some kind of survival mechanism or what, I don't know.)

I think I have become a little more forgetful, because I don't put much effort into remembering as I did when working. Most things we forget are not that important. It isn't like we forgot to put clothes on and drove naked somewhere. My worst one was last year when I went to local KFC drive-in. Paid for my meal and promptly drove off without even waiting for my meal. Got out of car and realized what I did. No way was I going back to tell them I was the dumb one who paid for a meal I didn't bother to get.

I've had most of the examples and not been too concerned. But what's ALWAYS bugged me is my inability to remember names, and also faces. Even talked to Dr. about it once, he said no big deal and more frequent in men. I had a successful career, but I was always haunted by this failure to remember people and their names. Go figure. I've known people (one politician in particular) who could walk into a restaurant and wander around and call out names and it would just amaze me.