Security questions (2FA, Lastpass authenticator, etc.)

Lsbcal

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Questions for the security informed here:
1) If I use my iPhone with an app from the app store and then login with facial recognition on my secure wifi at home, is that basically two factor authentication (something you physically have and something you know)?

Example: I use the Vanguard app with facial recognition on the iPhone. Is that 2FA or equivalent?

2) Would security be even better if I turn off wifi (home) calling and use cellular while doing this?

3) Is #1 or #2 superior or equivalent to using the Lastpass authenticator? I have no experience with the Lastpass authenticator but I do use Lastpass all the time.

It seems that using the iPhone to check my financial sites is really easy but I want to be quite secure too.

Last edited:
I have not used an iPhone in years, and I am not claiming expertise but I believe:
1) No. I would not consider this an example of two-factor authentication. I suppose it could be considered a form of two-factor the first time an App was loaded, where you had to enter normal login credentials (e.g. username + password) and then use the phone's bio-metric capability to authenticate to bootstrap the proces. But thereafter from my perspective it is only device authentication backed by bio-metrics.

I have also wondered how apps are written that utilized this approach. a) How the bank trusts that its phone app has not been later compromised, b) what does the phone app communicate back to the bank to indicated that the person has been authenticated, as it would seem unwise for the app to have cached any prior credentials or to just send a binary yes/no indication that the person has been authenticated.