Kindle Paperwhite

steelyman

Moderator Emeritus
I'm thinking about getting one of these - 3g, wi-fi, no ads. I've never used one (or any Kindle) before. Any experiences?

I have a regular kindle and I love it. I thought books would be cheaper, but it's so convenient to carry around.

Kindle

Get the cover with the built in light so you can read in bed and also, you can get many classics free. And on the books you purchase, you can share them, or send them to other kindles - my hub and I both have them, and can read the same book at the same time. I think a lot of libraries have kindle lending.

Check your local library. Many public libraries lend Kindle books (although my library e-Book selection is disappointing comparing to the paper).
The paperwhite model is nice, because of built in light (no need to buy a separate light).
I think Kindle is excellent for traveling. DW has K3 (3rd generation). I would use it more if our library selection was better.

Last edited:
I have had Kindles since they came out. The Paperwhite aims the light at the screen and not at your eyes - - - really nice ! I highly recommend it. I have the WiFi only version - personal choice.

Thanks for all the info and opinions, everyone.

So it sounds like the ideal setup is the Paperwhite, a sleeve, and a power adapter.

The only thing I'm unclear on is that it looks like the Paperwhite already has a built-in light and I don't see any separate cases with lights that fit the Paperwhite on Amazon.

Last edited:
I bought a padded gel case on ebay for my kindle . I had a leather case but it was awkward to use .This is great I just throw it in my purse.Check to see if your library has overdrive . It downloads books automatically to kindles .

So it sounds like the ideal setup is the Paperwhite, a sleeve, and a power adapter.

The only thing I'm unclear on is that it looks like the Paperwhite already has a built-in light and I don't see any separate cases with lights that fit the Paperwhite on Amazon.