final expense insurance

frank

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I was wondering what the thoughts are on final expense insurance. is this insurance cost effective? is it just as beneficial to pay at the time when needed? I am sure there are posts out there about this subject, but I couldn't find them. so if there are please redirect.

I was wondering what the thoughts are on final expense insurance. is this insurance cost effective? is it just as beneficial to pay at the time when needed? I am sure there are posts out there about this subject, but I couldn't find them. so if there are please redirect.

I think a pre-planned funeral makes sense. I do not think Insurance is needed as long as someone budgets ahead. It is not as if you may not die, it is pretty well a given. In over half of the cases, you will over pay for the insurance due to rates of mortality and "overhead" charged in the premium.

My apologies for commenting when I have very little knowledge of this insurance product, but I can't get my head around how it would work and how it would be differentiated from plain ole term life insurance or simply pre-paying for your chosen level of final expenses. Can you describe what you are being offered/sold? And what are you seeking to insure against?

Direct cremation here is under $1000 at a couple of local no-frills places.

I'm setting up the above next week for a terminally ill relative.

Service at their church is free, as is scattering the ashes in the church's graveyard.

Or their family might decide to pay for internment of the cremains with a (small) gravestone.

Last edited:
My parents pre-paid their funeral expenses. It was really just a form of an insurance policy, however. We ended up paying for a better casket, an elaborate casket cover (flowers) and the cost of opening up the grave. The funeral ended up being fairly expensive--despite having insurance.