Almost ready to find out what this "Retirement thing" is all about

Luvtoride

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I just found this forum and its exactly what I'm looking for. To say I'm obsessed with Retirement planning may be an understatement. I don't expect to get an answer as to WHEN I can retire, but look forward to learning as much as I can.
Here are a few of my particulars:
- I am a CPA and have been working in the financial/ accounting side of the P&C Insurance business for the past 35 years (31 with the same company I am still with). I will collect a very good traditional pension from the company when I retire
- My wife and I both turn 64 years old this year. We just celebrated our 41st anniversary
- I'm still working full time, although have been working remotely for the past 18 months and loving it...hoping to finish my career working this way
- My wife retired from her full-time job in Health care management 2 years ago and now has a health care consulting business. She already collects a pension, for the past 6 years from NYCers after a 15 year career
- I speak to everyone I can about retirement (both those who are retired and those who are and are not planning to retire) to learn the pros and cons, not just financial aspects, but what they do with themselves. The responses are surprising!
- We have a Financial Advisor who we have been working with and have implemented a solid plan for retirement (mine) in about 2 years. We have a fairly sizeable amount of assets for retirement
- We own two homes, one in North Jersey and one at the Jersey shore with mortgages but a significant amount of equity in each. We are not planning to move away from this expensive area as our daughters and grandkids all live around here
- I've been greatly impacted by the death of some very close friends over the past 3 years, making me think more and more about retirement and "enjoying" life more