Apple AirTags

Ready

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Apple announced their long anticipated Air Tags today. The technology has been available from other companies for years but I haven't paid much attention to it. But as we begin to think about traveling again, I think I like the idea of planting a tag in my luggage so that if it gets lost I have some way to keep track of it. And I'm always losing my wallet, so I think I'll keep one in there too.

Has anyone else been using this technology from other companies? How reliable are they?

Tried to order some today, but have to wait until the 23rd!

My keys are the main thing.

I've used a tile on my key ring for some time now. Mostly I don't need it, but when I do it's great to have.

I’m still learning how the technology works, but it appears that Apple has a big advantage over Tile based on the way it identifies its location when your item is lost.

With Tile, you have to be within Bluetooth range to find your item. So if someone steals your wallet and drives off with it, you are out of range. Your only hope at that point is that the Tile comes within close proximity of another smartphone running the Tile app, which will share its location with the tile tracker.

But with the Apple Airtag, it can pick up location data from any Iphone that happens to be nearby. So you have a much greater likelihood of the airtag reporting location data if it gets far away from you.

It looks like Tile is actively fighting Apple and claiming unfair competition over this feature. I can understand why.

https://techcrunch.com/2021/04/20/tile-bashes-apples-new-airtag-as-unfair-competition/