Auto Repair Question - OEM vs non-OEM Parts

schenbew

Recycles dryer sheets
My DD's 2016 Corolla was inspected the other day at the dealer. Technician found a slight leak around the water pump. Dealer quoted a $740 repair to replace the water pump. Car is paid off, low mileage and in great condition, so definitely worth repairing.

Got a second quote for repair at a local Firestone for $620 using a non-OEM water pump.

What say the auto experts here on the value of OEM vs non-OEM parts in this case?

Thanks!

not a lot of difference in price. I would check and see if either one would warranty the part and labor and for how long. I have a prius and do my own work, but use oem fluids and parts when within reason.

For that difference I'd go with the dealer price.

I'm not an expert but I've done a lot of car work/repairs in the past 50+ years. When I was younger and couldn't afford it, I'd buy at a junk yard, recondition or non OEM parts to save a few bucks. Sometimes with good results and sometimes, well, not so much. It depends.... These days I tend to buy new/OEM parts although, if it's a relatively new vehicle, I may still visit a junk yard and pull a used OEM part depending on availability and cost.

The prices you quoted seem like a lot for a water pump and install but I'm a DIY'er so maybe it's not out of line.

Last edited:
Just my preference, but I would find a local mechanic (not a dealer, not a chain) and have him install an OEM part. Water pumps on a corolla are not complex- Repair Pal estimates between $360 and $429

If it were me I would go with a non-OEM water pump. Through the years with off market parts on vehicles and equipment that I have installed I have had no issues and have not had to replace those parts again. Just my 2¢.