Car To Solve US Energy Problems

The US doesn't have an energy problem. Plenty to go around. Just to need better manage distribution.

I remember those things being all the rage back in the late 70's...

2017.Jpg

:D

Forget about 16-yr olds! I want one of these to tour European cities in, but I would need a luggage rack.

You know how hard it is to find parking places in the cities. Yet, these can be parked on sidewalks. Well, at least in Amsterdam anyway. Even if you have to share the "road" with bicyclists, heck, it still beats walking.

I suspect it would not be long before they pass laws to crack down on this.

My first tour in the Army I was a bus driver in Germany. Lots of episodes with literally inches of clearance on sides. I could have used one of these. :LOL:

I saw a Citroen 2CV today in Spring Hill, Tennessee. I first saw one 50 years ago in Germany, and i thought then they were the biggest POS I ever saw.

They're wanting $16K to $18K for 1986 models in great shape.

I've heard that there is a significant market for used Geo Metros and clones. With the right set up, they were (are) capable of about 50 mpg. I rented one in Phoenix back in the early 90's. It was an automatic. In Phoenix traffic - especially on the freeways - I had to have my foot to the floor either on the gas or brake. Even driving in that fashion, I averaged over 30 mpg. The car itself was terrible (small, cramped, slow, unable to keep up, etc.) In short, I'd never want to own one.

It's interesting that (for instance) the Prius, blows away all the mini-cars ever built in terms of fuel mileage, comfort and performance. So, I tend to think we don't really need the tiny electric cars. They do look like fun and they would likely be cheap to operate. I just don't see them as practical for most applications - especially when there are excellent alternatives with outstanding fuel economy. YMMV