Graduate School After Retirement

AnIntentionalRoad

Recycles dryer sheets
I've been ERed for 4 years and have several hobbies that keep me pretty busy but I've always wanted to go back to school to get a PhD in a field that I had a strong intellectual interest in. I've recently been accepted into a doctoral program in business, where I'll specialize in entrepreneurship. I start next fall and will likely be 51 when I complete the program. Not sure what I'll do with the degree. I might teach PT in a business school in my 50s or I might just enjoy the journey of the program without ever putting it to use professionally.

I'm curious if anyone else has started in a Masters or Doctoral program after retiring? Why? Did you finish? What did you do after? Anything you would do differently?

Sent from my SM-T377P using Early Retirement Forum mobile app

Not me. I have three degrees, including a Masters and a doctorate. I got my third degree in my 40s. All three helped me forge a great career. However, there is no way I would go to the expense and work of doing another degree in ER. There would be no financial payback as I have no intention of rejoining the workforce. I have a lifelong love of learning, which I satisfy now by taking free online courses, workshops, and the occasional hands on course in eclectic subjects ranging from economics to history to Italian cooking.

I may go back and finish a MBA just to zero out my gi bill. They pay a little over 2K/month housing stipend so may do it for financial reasons but never actually use it for a job. I have 19 months left so I could definately add some $ to the stash.