Harmony on a song from the 60's

David1961

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Is it me, or is the harmony off just a little on this song. The "harmony" occurs several times on the song, first from the times 0:11 to 0:24 (when they both sing "Yours...."). The high harmony just seems off to me.

I'm not an expert on such things nor do I have perfect pitch. I think I hear what you suggest as a the harmony being "off." It could be as simple as the way records used to be produced. As now, most harmonies were (are) actually sung at different times and then "layered" together. In those days, the technology for recording and then combining sounds and layers was not as good as it is now - nor were the budgets as generous. IIRC, recording went from mono wire recording to dual track for stereo then 4 track, 8 track and now 32 track (maybe more??) Now each track is "adjustable" so that an error can actually be tweaked a bit to get the harmonies perfect. Also IIRC, the earliest layering was done without multi-track recording (see the movie "The Buddy Holly Story"). Some of the earliest layering also led to some of the effects (such as "phasing") we came to expect on psychedelic records of the 60's. I believe the following may be the first record released with phasing error left in.

Toni Fisher - 'The Big Hurt' - 1959 45rpm - YouTube

Used intentionally, phasing was critical in such hits as

Small Faces - Itchycoo Park - YouTube

I'm just guessing that "perfection" in those days was reserved for classical music recordings while "Rock 'n' Roll" was a bit less precise. I still recall hearing recording errors in groups as famous/popular as The Beatles and The Mommas and The Poppas.

Finally, unless you know the source for the upload to Youtube, it's difficult to say where the problem was created (if it indeed exists - see my original caveats.)

But, now for an amazing harmony - Start about 1:40 and hold onto your heart strings.

Vince Gill - When I Call Your Name - YouTube