Implications of Netflix sharing crackdown

SecretlyFI

Recycles dryer sheets
Today I started to see headlines about Netflix announcing they will be starting to charge for sharing of accounts/passwords in the new year. I read one article that indicated they will define “sharing” as anyone outside your “household”. It indicated it would detect anyone watching it outside your home location. I’m not a techie but I assume it would know this via info on your ip address and/or what network you’re using?

We pay for Netflix each month and use it on multiple TV’s at home. It asks who is watching-me, DH or DS-I guess these are profiles on our 1 account. Our son is away at college and is able to login and watch on the tv in his dorm, using our login info. I don’t see that as “sharing” because he is part of our household. So does this mean members of the same household will be charged more if they watch Netflix at a different place than their own home? Kids away at college, people with 2nd homes seem like the most common examples. Does anyone have anymore detail about this and how to prove you’re still part of the same household vs someone else?

Our son is away at college and is able to login and watch on the tv in his dorm, using our login info. I don’t see that as “sharing” because he is part of our household. So does this mean members of the same household will be charged more if they watch Netflix at a different place than their own home? Kids away at college, people with 2nd homes seem like the most common examples. Does anyone have anymore detail about this and how to prove you’re still part of the same household vs someone else?

How you define household is completely irrelevant.

By Netflix's definition, household is the physical location. Your son, away at college is not part of your household.

https://help.netflix.com/en/node/124925