Medicare Part D Observations and Dislikes

ShokWaveRider

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
History: This is my first year on Medicare and I purchased the cheapest Part D supplement because all my regular medicines here in Florida are either free at Publix and Winn Dixie or $10 for 90 days at Walmart. Of course the main reason was to avoid the Medicare Part D penalty.

Well I recently needed a one off drug for post operative reasons, and guess what, not covered by my Part D and subject to a $415 deductible.

So basically Medicare Part D does nothing but give the insurance company a free premium. Then they give me the finger, when I actually need/choose to use it. It would be different if it was a regular planned drug.

Anyone else feel cheated here? Why does Medicare continue to panda and give meal tickets to the drug companies?

you bought the cheapest policy, you get the least coverage.
Did you check with the policy's formulary list to see if there was a substitute med available?

you bought the cheapest policy, you get the least coverage.
Did you check with the policy's formulary list to see if there was a substitute med available?

Yes, and that was the generic that was not covered. The point being it was a 1 off. I would understand if it was a regular that I had not told them about. BTW it was recommended to me by Medicare based on my regular drug use. To add insult to injury, they want to put the premium up by 40% this year when I have never used them.

Well I recently needed a one off drug for post operative reasons, and guess what, not covered by my Part D and subject to a $415 deductible.

So basically Medicare Part D does nothing but give the insurance company a free premium. Then they give me the finger, when I actually need/choose to use it. It would be different if it was a regular planned drug.

Anyone else feel cheated here? Why does Medicare continue to panda and give meal tickets to the drug companies?