Poll: How Often Have You Had A Flat Tire?

How often have you had a flat on average

• Less than 3 years apart

Votes: 31 19.1%
  • More than 3 years apart

Votes: 20 12.3%
  • More than 5 years apart

Votes: 30 18.5%
  • More than 10 years apart

Votes: 36 22.2%
  • More than 20 years apart

Votes: 20 12.3%
  • More than 30 years apart

Votes: 25 15.4%

• Total voters

Midpack

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
To my dismay, neither of our cars have a spare tire, jack, etc. I guess that’s becoming more and more common. Even worse, I’d be more than willing to buy everything needed, but there’s no place to put it all without tying up tons of space in the trunk/hatch. Most cars used to have a well under the trunk floor as most of you probably remember.

So I am debating buying spares for our cars, but there’s no place to carry it. Bad enough in DW’s trunk, but even worse in my hatchback.

That said, DW and I have been driving for over 50 years and we have one flat tire between us about 30 years ago. I changed the tire in less than 10 minutes and we didn’t even miss our dinner reservation (DW said ‘I didn’t know you could do that.’). :D

So maybe I just take a chance. I might consider a plug kit and inflator as an alternative. But I am not interested in spray goo solutions, I’d rather deal with a tow than that.

We only drive on paved roads, and I replace tires at 4/32” tread depth, so I don’t push our luck. Please don’t vote if you’re an off-roader, racer, or special cases?

Maybe I’m getting too old to change a tire anyway. BTD. :wiseone:

Last edited:
41 years driving. One flat tire- it was 1993.

But, I'm not a fan of "no spare tire". I refuse to buy a vehicle that doesn't have one.