Collectables?

Ronstar

Moderator Emeritus
I've been collecting maps for several years - mostly antique maps and road maps. Now I've started collecting antique woodworking tools. The (foldable) maps are easy to store, but this tool collection hobby could become a problem.

So what do you collect?

Quality statues and maquettes of characters or creatures from shows, comics, and games I like. They're my version of framed art on the walls.

Firearms would be another category. The ones I collect fall strictly into the Rule of Cool, and ones that fall into featuring in the kind of entertainment I like too.

Classic and historically important computer games. The cheapest collection on a per unit basis, but with so many out there, I've spent about as much as my other collections.

Money. I really, really like collecting money. :D

I used to collect un-built (in the box) radio control model airplane kits from the 1960's/1970's and earlier. But I liquidated the collection when eBay became a vehicle to sell collectibles. I did keep a select few.

About 7-10 years ago, I finally obtained the few missing cards from two Topps baseball card sets I began collecting in the 1970s when I was a kid. Those two sets were the 1973 and 1974 cards. In 2007 I completed the 1974 set and in 2010 I completed the 1973 set.

I wish I would have taken care of my baseball cards when I was a kid. I probably used a valuable card as a noise maker in the spokes of my bike.

I still have my cards from the Big 4 sports. I wouldn't say that I collect anymore, I just have them and once in awhile I do some organizing.

My current collection is liquor, mostly bourbon. I drink it on occasion, but like to collect different bottles.

I've been collecting maps for several years - mostly antique maps and road maps. Now I've started collecting antique woodworking tools. The (foldable) maps are easy to store, but this tool collection hobby could become a problem.

So what do you collect?