Identity Theft Protection services

crispus

Recycles dryer sheets
Does anyone have anything good or bad to say about these services. We have been considering Lifelock service, but don't know if we need it or not.

If you are a homeowner, does your homeowner's policy cover identity theft? We're switching to Travelers this year and I understand id theft is part of the coverage.

I don't know the specifics yet.

I have been paying for Identity Guard for a few years now. It's about $10 a month but worth my peace of mind. You receive an email whenever there's a change to your credit report on all three services ( transunion, equifax and experian).

I was a victim of identity theft and I don't want to go through it again.

IMHO they are a waste of time and money. There's nothing they can do that you can't do for yourself. It's not that hard checking your credit report occassionally. If you live in one of the states that allow you to freeze your credit, do that and you should not have any problems. However, if you need to apply for credit I've heard some horror stories about removing the freeze. If you are worried about ID theft and absolutely won't do the work yourself, then something like Lifelock might be worthwhile. Although I don't think they do much other than monitor the credit bureaus for changes. They can't stop ID Theft, and I don't think they are much help after it happens either. I think you still have to do all the legwork, although they can give you some help figuring out who to talk to.