Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2010, 06:27 PM   #41
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
+1 about Tigerdirect.

Also they have very quick shipping. Even the standard ground shippinng usually arrives quicker than that stated on the order.
__________________

__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-15-2010, 06:31 PM   #42
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelB View Post
I looked at the Dell configurator for the Dell Vostro 430 Mini tower Intel i3 540 and it offers up to 8GB. I would think that would be enough to keep this computer in productive use for the rest of the decade - as long as you don't upgrade your SW too much over the years. 4GB now, another 4GB in 4-5 years. It has plenty of connections and free bays. It looks like a reasonable configuration.
I mentioned this earlier, it's a max of 16GB. The board has space for 4 DIMM chips and can take 4GB in each. Dell seems to have trouble recommending 16GB for any system. Here's a link to the tech specs

Vostro 430 Mini Tower Details | Dell
    • Up to 16GB2 Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1333Mhz - 4 DIMMS
Most people that need to upgrade, usually do it when they initially buy the system or soon after (when you find the prices drop). In all the times I've upgraded the RAM, I never went back to add more 4-5 years later. Keep in mind, systems are obsolete in < 6 months today.
__________________

__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 06:10 AM   #43
Moderator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rocky Inlets
Posts: 24,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimsumkid View Post
I mentioned this earlier, it's a max of 16GB. The board has space for 4 DIMM chips and can take 4GB in each. Dell seems to have trouble recommending 16GB for any system. Here's a link to the tech specs

Vostro 430 Mini Tower Details | Dell
    • Up to 16GB2 Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1333Mhz - 4 DIMMS
Most people that need to upgrade, usually do it when they initially buy the system or soon after (when you find the prices drop). In all the times I've upgraded the RAM, I never went back to add more 4-5 years later. Keep in mind, systems are obsolete in < 6 months today.
Memory prices decline with time. One should buy now what one needs and in the future what one needs later.

Computer systems are by no means obsolete in 6 months. The system components should function as purchased for many years, and if the user requirements do not change, a computer can easily be productive for over a decade.
What does change are 1) user requirements, and 2) SW. New applications that can exceed the capacity of one's current computer would be processor intensive, such as video editing. New applications that are memory intensive, such as image editing, can be dealt with by adding additional memory. Unnecesary SW version upgrading - such as moving from MS XP to Vista - can also render a current configuration inadequate. This is why people should not upgrade SW unless there is specific application need.
__________________
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 09:29 AM   #44
Moderator Emeritus
Nords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oahu
Posts: 26,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimsumkid View Post
The board has space for 4 DIMM chips and can take 4GB in each. Dell seems to have trouble recommending 16GB for any system.
Max memory limits for 64-bit Windows 7 | ZDNet

Is RAM used by anything these days besides the Windows OS? Some sort of memory-boost or speed-boost utility? Because IIRC anything above 4GB for a 32-bit Win7 is a waste of money...
__________________
*
*

The book written on E-R.org, "The Military Guide to Financial Independence and Retirement", on sale now! For more info see "About Me" in my profile.
I don't spend much time here anymore, so please send me a PM. Thanks.
Nords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 10:45 AM   #45
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nords View Post
Max memory limits for 64-bit Windows 7 | ZDNet

Is RAM used by anything these days besides the Windows OS?
Yes

HowStuffWorks "Does adding more RAM to your computer make it faster?"

MichaelB,
My comment about computers being obsolete < 6 months, I was referring to the new product cycle. What you see on sale today will be gone in < 6 months. I saw new laptops on sale earlier this year, went on clearance in 3 months and disappeared off the shelfs and replaced with a newer chip/model in the 4th month.
__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 11:06 AM   #46
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Waimanalo, HI
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nords View Post
Is RAM used by anything these days besides the Windows OS?
Well, there's Linux. I suppose you meant among MS home operating systems.
__________________
Greg (retired in 2010 at age 68, state pension)
GregLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 11:25 AM   #47
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nords View Post
Because IIRC anything above 4GB for a 32-bit Win7 is a waste of money...
I believe the actual maximum usage is 3.5GB... although you have to install 4GB to reach that.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 01:58 PM   #48
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Free To Canoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cooksburg,PA
Posts: 1,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by bltkmt View Post
I just bought the new HP Compaq 6000 Pro All-In-One, their first enterprise AIO PC...love it!

HP Compaq 6000 Pro All-in-One PC specifications - HP Small & Medium Business products
The all in one combinations usually do not appeal to me.
However, the 3 year warrenty really caught my eye.
This is the longest that I have seen for a computer product (without paying extra).

Free to canoe
__________________
Free To Canoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 04:09 PM   #49
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
walkinwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nords View Post
Max memory limits for 64-bit Windows 7 | ZDNet

Is RAM used by anything these days besides the Windows OS? Some sort of memory-boost or speed-boost utility? Because IIRC anything above 4GB for a 32-bit Win7 is a waste of money...
For 32-bit, the limit is 3.5GB.
For 64-bit OSs like 64 bit versions of Linux & Windows 7, it is much higher - like your link explains.

Today's programs are more bloated than ever! And most of them need a lot of run-time support - all of which takes up memory.

OS's use the spare memory - that not used by programs - to cache data. It is much faster to access data in memory than on disk, so you'll see a dramatic increase in performance.
__________________
walkinwood is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 05:21 PM   #50
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Lisa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Villages
Posts: 1,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nords View Post
What a coincidence, I was about to say the same regarding a 30" 23" flat-screen LCD monitor...
or even a Vizio 37" Razor LED TV being used as a computer monitor! Bought it at WalMart about a month ago and LOVE it.
__________________
Lisa99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 05:29 PM   #51
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisa99 View Post
or even a Vizio 37" Razor LED TV being used as a computer monitor! Bought it at WalMart about a month ago and LOVE it.
Ew! Ew! Is this what you are referring to?

Vizio Razor M370NV Review - Flat-panel TVs - CNET Reviews

How did it work out... resolutionwise? I am very interest in a monitor that size.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 05:37 PM   #52
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Lisa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Villages
Posts: 1,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
Ew! Ew! Is this what you are referring to?

Vizio Razor M370NV Review - Flat-panel TVs - CNET Reviews

How did it work out... resolutionwise? I am very interest in a monitor that size.
That's the one. The resolution as a computer monitor and as a TV are both excellent. There is no flickering, and no pixelation of the text at all. And with all of the inputs available on the TV you can switch from computer monitor to TV in 3 key strokes on the remote.

And what I love most (besides the gigantic size) is that the LED produces no heat, so it is very cost efficient to run.
__________________
Lisa99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 07:13 PM   #53
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisa99 View Post
That's the one. The resolution as a computer monitor and as a TV are both excellent. There is no flickering, and no pixelation of the text at all. And with all of the inputs available on the TV you can switch from computer monitor to TV in 3 key strokes on the remote.

And what I love most (besides the gigantic size) is that the LED produces no heat, so it is very cost efficient to run.
Terrific!
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 07:38 PM   #54
Moderator Emeritus
Nords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oahu
Posts: 26,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisa99 View Post
That's the one. The resolution as a computer monitor and as a TV are both excellent. There is no flickering, and no pixelation of the text at all. And with all of the inputs available on the TV you can switch from computer monitor to TV in 3 key strokes on the remote.
At that size, is it run from your recliner eight feet across the room... or from your computer chair about 30" away?

I'd be tempted to have the same pixels I'm using now magnified to 2.6 times the area, and put away my reading glasses.
__________________
*
*

The book written on E-R.org, "The Military Guide to Financial Independence and Retirement", on sale now! For more info see "About Me" in my profile.
I don't spend much time here anymore, so please send me a PM. Thanks.
Nords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 07:45 PM   #55
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Lisa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Villages
Posts: 1,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nords View Post
At that size, is it run from your recliner eight feet across the room... or from your computer chair about 30" away?

I'd be tempted to have the same pixels I'm using now magnified to 2.6 times the area, and put away my reading glasses.
It's my work monitor so is about 36" from me. I do business process development work and use Visio and ProVision so the big screen has upped my productivity a lot.

When I'm watching it as a TV I'm in the recliner about eight ft away.
__________________
Lisa99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 08:18 PM   #56
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
walkinwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,676
How big is the default browser text on that thing? Must be huge - I may even be able to read a screen like that without my glasses!
__________________
walkinwood is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 09:44 PM   #57
Moderator Emeritus
Nords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oahu
Posts: 26,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisa99 View Post
It's my work monitor so is about 36" from me. I do business process development work and use Visio and ProVision so the big screen has upped my productivity a lot.
When I'm watching it as a TV I'm in the recliner about eight ft away.
Very nice. Thank you.

I'm going to have to find a try-before-you-buy retail outlet... I wonder if they'd let me plug in my laptop.
__________________
*
*

The book written on E-R.org, "The Military Guide to Financial Independence and Retirement", on sale now! For more info see "About Me" in my profile.
I don't spend much time here anymore, so please send me a PM. Thanks.
Nords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 09:50 PM   #58
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Lisa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Villages
Posts: 1,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nords View Post
Very nice. Thank you.

I'm going to have to find a try-before-you-buy retail outlet... I wonder if they'd let me plug in my laptop.
I would think just about any retail store would let you return it if it doesn't work for you. We bought ours at WalMart and they have a no questions asked refund policy as long as it is returned with the receipt within a specified period of time.
__________________
Lisa99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 09:54 PM   #59
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Lisa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Villages
Posts: 1,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by walkinwood View Post
How big is the default browser text on that thing? Must be huge - I may even be able to read a screen like that without my glasses!
My default text is about an inch, but what makes the real difference is the brightness of the screen. It doesn't have a gray cast like a lot of monitors do; the whites are a pure white which is much easier for me to read.

I've gotten so spoiled on it that I dread having to read my laptop screen when I'm away from the house.
__________________
Lisa99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 05:02 PM   #60
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Free To Canoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cooksburg,PA
Posts: 1,738
Finally I have made a decision (see below).
I still need a monitor but things seemed pricy on the Dell web site. Maybe I will shop elsewhere. Lots of Black Friday deals out there but not one that I can warm up to.
I still need a monitor. Maybe a 23"?
$599 + tax from the Dell retail web site.

Free to canoe

Catalog Number: 29 DDDOZZ1 Module DescriptionShow Details
Inspiron 580SInspiron 580S
Operating SystemGenuine Windows® 7 Home Premium, 64bit, English
ProcessorsIntel® Core™ i3-550 processor(4MB Cache, 3.20GHz)
Memory6GB DDR3 SDRAM at 1333MHz- 3 DIMMs
KeyboardDell USB Entry Keyboard
MonitorNo Monitor
Video CardIntegrated Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator HD
Hard Drive1TB - 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache
MouseDell USB Optical Mouse
Network CardIntegrated 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet
ModemNo Modem Option
Optical Drives16X DVD+/-RW Drive
SoundIntegrated 7.1 Channel Audio
SpeakersNo Speaker Option
Security SoftwareMcAfee SecurityCenter, 15-Months
Service2 Year Basic Service Plan
Service 1Dell Online Backup 2GB for 1 year
__________________

__________________
Free To Canoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My next gadget purchase Meadbh Other topics 9 09-29-2010 10:24 AM
Considering Home Purchase CoolChange Other topics 3 02-16-2010 03:18 AM
used computer purchase Khan Other topics 10 06-04-2007 10:43 PM
Condo Purchase ferco Life after FIRE 37 01-31-2007 10:26 AM
Used Car Purchase ferco FIRE and Money 5 02-25-2005 03:27 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.