eBay Downside?

Midpack

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
We've been casually de-cluttering for a couple of years, mostly giving away or throwing away "stuff." But I decided I'd give eBay a whirl and I have been astonished. In about 3 weeks I've sold an old 35mm film camera, 3 (business gift) pens, a handmade vase, 5 books & 2 DVDs and cleared over $600 after eBay's cut and all shipping & packaging - all for stuff that I'd never use again and with no value at all to me. I was wary but now that I know how their transactions work, the whole scheme looks very smart and secure (all my transactions have been thru PayPal). But I'm a newbie at eBay --- any folks here with advice or horror stories that might be helpful before I learn a hard lesson?

I did a search and came up with nothing, apologies if this is an old topic here.

I've been thinking about doing this since we are also in a major decluttering phase. I'm a little surprised about the amount though, for the stuff you listed. What drove up the total, the camera? I'll be interested to see your responses. I'm sure there will be a bunch of horror stories, but hopefully enough positive ones to encourage me to get started. Keep us informed.

We're also doing some major de-junking and I've been thinking about selling stuff on eBay, too. I'd be interested in any experiences people have, what types of things sell well, and even how you get off the ground when buyers can't see that you've had any satisfactory feedback in your seller's profile.

Amazon also has a means to sell stuff through their site, it looks very simple. We have a large number of books, I would think Amazon might be a better spot to sell them than eBay. Again, any experiences and advice would be appreciated.