Smart phone medicine - is this the future?

Texas Proud

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
My sister just sent this to me.

It is a Rock Center piece on having tests etc. informaton sent to a smart phone.

It is really fascinating what can be done right now. I hope that some of this starts to come out more.

NBCNews.com Video Player

I hope so, it makes sense as a place to start in some/many cases. Not a matter of if, but when IMHO...

Interesting.....

but NO WAY is that iPhone doing my prostate exam :eek:

Interesting. The first portion seemed way over-hyped to me. I'm no doctor, but I can't imaging that a two contact device on your fingertips is really the same as an EKG with all those probes glued to a shaved chest. If it was, it could and probably would have been done w/o using a smartphone as the 'brain' and interface.

That made me pretty skeptical, but as it went on, the automatic communication, like reporting stats to your doc directly, or when a preset alarm level occurred, and other inter-actions with the patient really did appear to bring some significant value-added items to the table.

And if you are developing a suite of interfaces, using the phone as the core of the device eliminates a lot of re-inventing the wheel, and takes advantage of the economy of scale of the cell phone market. Esp as it is re-used for multiple adapters.

Thanks for posting, very interesting.

-ERD50

My sister just sent this to me.

It is a Rock Center piece on having tests etc. informaton sent to a smart phone.

It is really fascinating what can be done right now. I hope that some of this starts to come out more.

NBCNews.com Video Player

And here I was impressed with the bubble level app I downloaded to check if a countertop sloped!

I am also thinking of the "blonde jokes" this report could trigger. :)