Anybody do seasonal tax work

Texas Proud

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I am interested in doing some tax work during the tax season and maybe at different times during the year....

DW does sub teaching and there are times I would not mind doing something to add a few $$$s to the till...

So, if anybody does this or knows someone who does... what is the pay for this kind of work? I am a CPA and know a bit about taxes, so I am not coming to it without knowledge... just have not been full time tax for 30+ years....

Sounds like work to me. I do my return and a handful of others (Mom, DS, aunt, friend) and am trying to do less rather than more. I did lots of returns early in my career as our firm's tax department sought to borrow me from audit for months at a time during tax season.

Different topic... are you renewing your license, keeping up on CPE, etc since you retired? I renewed for one term but then decided to go inactive.... I can reactivate if needed by getting some CPE.

Year after I retired I did five tax seasons working for Block and then two years doing volunteer tax with the VITA program. I enjoyed the work and helping people, especially during the VITA years. After three years with Block and building up a clientele I was making right around $10K per season.

frayne, any idea roughly how many hours you worked for that $10k? I think I would be more inclined to do volunteer work.

Volunteer

I volunteer with the AARP/IRS program. one day a week for 6 hours. This program is mainly for seniors and low income people.
We have a good friend that used to work for H&R Block, but balked at the extra hours of class they required this year.

I have worked for Block and Liberty

Each of them had a training course, one I took was about 8 weeks and the other about 12 weeks. I think same number of hours, just one was 2 hours twice a week, the other was 4-5 hours on a Saturday.