Birders?

imoldernu

Gone but not forgotten
More hobbies are popping up here. Wonder if anyone is interested in Birding?

Trailer for "Birders- The Central Park Effect"

Am not a professional, but like the subject.

Last edited:
When and why did it morph from "bird watching" (which is what they do, after all) to "birding" (which sounds like they're trying to be birds themselves)?

Amethyst

When and why did it morph from "bird watching" (which is what they do, after all) to "birding" (which sounds like they're trying to be birds themselves)?

Amethyst

Hey hey! Us birders are sensitive flock and dislike being mocked. Just saw a flock of turkeys sneak in to the back yard to hit the birdie feeders.

I'm an amateur. This year I say my first Pileated woodpecker and my first Bald Eagle in my home state(had seen 2 prior).

What I do miss in our old home was how tame the hummingbirds were. I've enjoyed many that perched on my fingers and looked quizzically at me.

MRG

Count me in! I think the term "Birding" was coined in an attempt to break the "dweeby" stereotype, most other people think of when they think of Bird Watchers.

Not mocking at all...I've been observing the feathered tribe all my life (hummingbirds especially). I'm just sensitive to language changes, and wonder about them. Personally I prefer "bird watching" to "birder" but it's hardly a big deal...

Amethyst

Each year, when we return to our camp, I do a review of our animals... and post it on ourretirement Community Website. At the risk of being boring, here's a update on some of the the Birds, from a few years back: