Medicare supplement

uncledrz

Full time employment: Posting here.
We are still a long way off from medicare and at this point purchasing our full medical insurance or self insuring.  At some point we will reach 65 and then be covered by medicare.  In another post HaHa raised an interesting point regarding medicare and supplemental coverages.

As I understand it, medicare provides a base hospital and doctor coverage, and the individual then has to purchase supplental coverages.

What types of supplements do you feel are necessary and what are the costs for those coverages?  Just an informal survey.

Uncledrz

Since there has been no reply, I'll tell you what I think I know (I'm not an expert in this or any other topic, except for organizing bands).

Two thing to consider -- (1) Medicare Part A, which covers hospitilization, provides good coverage for 30 days, some coverage for the next 120 days, and no coverage at all after that. The number of days is cumulative for your entire lifetime, not per-year. So, most perople buy Medigap supplemental coverage. Medigap comes in ten flavors, which are identified by letters of the alphabet, A-J. Most people choose A, C, or F (F is the most comprehensive).

(2) In some states, Doctors who take medicare patients are required to "Assign." This means that the Doctor cannot charge anything beyond the standard cost for a treatment as decided by Medicare. In other states, not so, and the patient is responsible for the difference between the cost auuthorized by Medicare and the actual cost decided by the doctor. Part F covers this difference. So, in some states it makes sense to buy Part F, and in other not.

Other readers -- if any of this is wrong, PLEASE let us know!

HH