Portfolio for career military officer

moneymaker

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi all,

What would be a good portfolio for a career military guy with both fidelity and vanguard accounts? Looking to go all mutual funds, with cheap expenses. I've mainly been an individual stock picking guy but with less and less time to focus on research I'm ready to just sit back.
Thanks in advance.

I'm 10 yrs in and plan on doing atleast 10 more.

Have approx $210 in retirement broken up as follows: $60k taxable, $60k Roth, and $90k trad 401k/Ira.

Yes. I have been maxing out the tsp for the past 2 years. 60% c fund 30% s And 10% intl.

15yrs in with at least 5 more, obviously, invested as follows:

~30% in TSP:
10% F
25% G
30% I
25% C
10% S

~25% IRAs (Mostly Roth, some Trad (spouse))
Split of VTSAX and VTIAX

~40% taxable
Split of VTSAX and VTIAX, and one S&P 500 fund that I haven't sold for tax purposes.

Rest is in wife's retirement and 403(b) accounts which is a controlled fund.

Overall AA, including all accounts, is 85/15 (target - currently 81/19) equity/bond allocation, aiming for 30% of equity as international. I use TSP G (and a little F), and the bond allocation of wife's retirement/403b for the entire bond allocation. No bonds in taxable or IRAs.

Fund allocation maximizes tax efficiency by keeping low income producers in taxable accounts. Minimizes fees by maxing TSP use and using Admiral shares elsewhere. This allocation along with our savings should have us FI when I hit retirement age (including pension).

Tough to give a recommendation without knowing marital status, kids, home ownership, etc., but in my younger 30s I was single and 100/0. Shifted to 85/15 about 2 years ago. I prefer fund simplicity as much as I can get it, hence just VTSAX and VTIAX for the majority of the accounts outside of TSP.

Last edited: