Sleep pattern and sleeping pills

If Ambien works for you, OTC valerian probably will too because of similar chemistry, however valerian is not as powerful, which can be a good or bad thing depending on your perspective.
Or not. See:

https://www.early-retirement.org/fo...-and-sleeping-pills-119378-2.html#post2992355

Valerian Root - doesn't help at all
Ambien and Xanax are powerful drugs with significant side-effect profiles and risk of dependence. Maybe occasional use would be okay (Xanax for getting through a day or two of sleeplessness because of specific stresses should not be problematic for most people.) I wouldn't want to be taking these drugs on a daily basis if there were any other options with better side-effect profiles available. BUT, I'm no doctor and have no particular qualifications on the subject. Therefore YMMV.
I didn't need it until I got severe tinnitus. I wouldn't take it if I didn't need it, but I've been using it for over 2 years, and I still take 1/8th of a pill sublingual as a standard dose if I wake up and can't sleep. I actually took 5mg at bedtime early on, so I take a lot less now. I have no side effects, but I still don't get enough sleep even though it helps.

I don't take Xanax at all, no prescription. A friend has been taking it for several years at a strength that is about 15X that of my zolpidem dose. I do have Ativan, which very similar with a longer half life, but I only take it occasionally and at a lower dose - no side effects. Where people get into the most trouble with benzos is taking them daily and at higher doses because they build tolerance and dependency. I have to get each refill authorized by the doctor.