Anyone else own a farm?

Stormy Kromer

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
The reason I ask is that farms are an extremely personal piece of property, let alone an investment property. Most of us that own farmland have bought it and suffered a long time to make it feasible. There are a lot of family dynamics involved over many generations that can't be explained unless you're in them. And, many families have been torn apart by promises involving hard work and sacrifice that didn't come true.

That said. Farm land sales are going crazy. I bought a farm ( 160 acres) with my dad in 1982 when I was a Junior in high school. Paid $1,600 an acre, borrowed the whole works. . Two years later in 1984 the farm was worth about $800 an acre for 160 acres.. I was $100k under water when I graduated from high school. College was out of the question, I had to stay home and help pay for that farm. I pulled through and paid it off.

Yesterday, the farm next to us sold for $13,400 an acre. Cash rent is about $300 an acre which isn't a huge dividend percentage, but, if you held onto land you're doing OK.

I know I would have done better if I had been in the S&P index the last 40 years, but is kind of fun to watch the crops grown outside the window as I type this.

Anyone else have farmland as a significant part of their portfolio?

Stormy you know I do...

An interesting question but the time to "invest" in farmland has passed IMO.

As far as your cash rent number as a % of todays number not a huge dividend agree. But in terms of actual purchase price it's a winner...

Anyhow we still farm so rental return isn't an issue.