CFP Process

Finance Dave

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I'm interested in becoming a CFP, but I have a few questions. I'm hoping some CFPs out there can guide me. I'm growing weary of the corporate world and am ready for a change in the next 2-3 years. However, the process of becoming a CFP seems almost onerous.

1) Do I have to take the educational program? I'm a mid-career individual who thinks I can pass the exams with just taking a review course...but the way I read the website it says I must take a "board certified" educational program.

2) If the answer to #1 is "too bad, you must take a program", any guidance on where I can obtain a low-cost, effective self-study or online course?

3) I'm considering a transcript review, has anyone on here done this? I have an MBA in Finance, although most of it was related to corporate finance. I wonder the likelyhood of getting granted credit based on my past education.

Thanks,

Dave

1.) you can challenge the program (meaning just take the exams) if you hold a CPA, CFA, and JD I believe.

2.) Google is your friend. Many colleges have them

I've thought of going the same route, but talked myself out of it.

Financial Planners shoulder a huge responsibility - you're responsible for someone's financial future. Also, I figured I'd also have to be a coach, counselor, cheerleader, consoler etc.

But what finally made up my mind is that it isn't a short-term career. I felt that I'd need to be in it for the long haul. Something I wasn't ready to commit to.

I'm thinking tax-preparation as a semi-ER profession. I have a friend who does that 4 months of the year. He didn't have a finance background, but picked it up fast enough. He says that there is a lot of emotion in the job - ups & downs. After all - who doesn't get emotional about money -especially when someone wants to take it away!

All the best in your search. I hope you share your findings and thoughts with the rest of us.

tax prep

Walkinwood,