3D Printer Recommendation

Jerry1

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Site Team
I saw some posts on 3D printing but they were a few years old. Wondering if anyone has a 3D printer recommendation. I’m thinking about getting one for the grandkids. The middle grandkid took a week class over the summer at the community college and seemed to enjoy it.

I’d like to stay under $500 (less is better) and get a good beginner lever machine. What I’d like to avoid is something so cheap as to be more trouble than it’s worth. Problem is that I know nothing about 3D printers other than understanding what their output is. I also know that the grandson was using a program that the school gave him but that it only worked for the duration of the class. So, I’m not sure if they come with software or if there is any out there at a reasonable cost.

Any help would be appreciated.

I am also a 3d printer noob. I just this week purchased a "used/returned" Voxelab Aquila on eBay in "as-is" condition for about $70. I know, no returns, I took the chance. From what I read; it is supposed to be as good as the Ender 3 X2 at about 70% of the price new vs new. I got mine for about 30% of "new". I am in the process of putting it together and as a used piece of equipment, I found a missing screw and one bed spring. No big deal I expected to have some missing. non working parts. Everything I did receive, worked. I am waiting for my Amazon delivery for the new spring and some miscellaneous expendables (nozzels, nozzle cleaners, Bowden tube etc). So far, I am impressed. I can't say yet if it was a good choice yet. I can say that I have learned more about the printer with putting it together and verifying its functions than I would have learned if it worked right out of the box. I think all 3D printers need some assembly.