Any Garageband users here?

Kane Archer

Confused about dryer sheets
I just bought a new MacBook Pro and I heard a lot about this "Garageband" software for music production. I have a passion for composing music and beats from my Computer so, I just want some advice on whether I should invest my time using this software or not?

Right now I am using Ableton and Audacity on my windows system but I am looking for some change.

Any suggestion would be appreciated.

I'm not good at GarageBand, but I keep trying. I can tell you that musicians I know use it to create very professional sounding compositions. It's a (very near) full professional tool.

There are many YouTube training videos that will blow you away.

(one of my isolation goals is to put together some songs in GarageBand on my Macbook).

Garageband has a lot of power, but Apple also sells Logic, which is their serious production software. Garageband is a nice, free introduction to see what is possible, but it's not used nearly as much as Ableton, etc. - and it's kind of a closed system of software and add-on packs. What are you missing in Ableton that makes you want to change? Garageband is excellent for beginners, but you sound like you know more than that and may run into some limitations.

There are many excellent Mac DAWs/production tools and it's worth your time to do some research on the best software for you. If you want something totally free and very powerful to get started, go with Reaper. It's the most popular shareware DAW, and you can use it as long as you want without licensing it. It also runs plugins and other external software instruments, many of which you can also get for free. The nice thing about Reaper is that it is very easy to learn if you've worked with any other DAW. There's nothing really quirky or complicated about it. FWIW, If you Google "Top 10 Mac DAWs" you'll get the list of most worthy contenders for real music production. They're all good.