For Musicans - Music Notation

ERD50

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I found this video fascinating. Very long, I watched it in stages, and skimmed over some of the history of Chess notation (but it is an interesting parallel).

I am a very amateur musician, had only a little formal training, I just enjoy banging out a few tunes I know. It's a challenge for me to read music properly, I mostly use it as a guide and fill in and improvise and simplify the rest.

In the video, he reviews numerous alternatives to the present accepted system of how sheet music is written (scored). As he points out the shortcoming of all these, it really gave me an appreciation for how well the current system works.

There is really a lot of value to the visual placement of notes rising and falling on the staff to provide a sense of where the music is going (many of the alternatives use a number or symbol for the note - all on one line, so no vertical/visual cue). And while the symbols for timing (whole, half, quarter, dotted etc) may seem awkward at first, it's a matter of learning them (and there is logic to them), and then they provide a visual cue missing in most of the other systems. They also are much more space efficient, most of the other systems use some sort of linear graphic to represent the time duration of a note (like a 'piano roll' style). So a whole note rest take up as much space on a page as 48 16th notes, so more page turning/scrolling - it's sort of like a built in 'zoom' feature, zooming in where you need the detail, zooming out when the information is less dense. With a graphic representation, it can also be hard to tell the difference in length between something like an eighth note and a dotted eighth or a sixteenth when they are scattered across a page. The current flags/dots work much better for this.