club treasurer software recommendations

ukwildcat

Dryer sheet wannabe
I am the incoming treasurer for local Lions Club. Current treasurer is using QuickBooks. Current treasurer owns a small business using QuickBooks so in need of new treasurer software. Local Lions Club will have a treasurer for the club and a separate treasurer for 501 foundation.

Need recommendations for club accounting software. Google search came up with Alpos, but that costs $480 per year. MoneyMinder and ClubTreasure came up as well as free club software.

I am not a computer whiz so need something simple. However, need to be able to track all revenue and expenses, create a monthly report for both club and foundation.
Recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Wouldn't it be easiest for the club to just buy a copy of Quickbooks? Alternatively, you could use Quicken.

I'm treasurer for our lake association and I have been using GnuCash which is a free download. It's ok.... I'm a retired accountant and long-time user of Quicken so it wasn't all that hard to figure out. The reporting is quite primitive but I just download trial balance information to LibreOffice Calc (a free clone of Excel) and use LibreOffice Calc for pretty reports.

Stick with QB. You will have a lot of grief porting the QB data file to any other software and, to the extent you use CPAs or tax preparers, you will probably have to pay to educate them about any oddball system you might choose. Free is not free; you will pay in other and possibly painful ways.

I was treasurer for our flying club for many years, using QB. We billed about $350K/year and were able to take advantage of emailing of statements for flying time and dues. If you do decide to go some other path, I'd suggest that you make sure you have emailing capability.