Economics 201- hostile takeovers

jIMOh

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I am far from an economic expert. Can anyone chime in on how a company like Microsoft can buy a company like yahoo?

They make a bid in good intentions, it is rejected.
So now Microsoft appears to be saying "we'll buy you whether you like it or not"? I assume the first is a merger, the second is a hostile takeover?

What is a proxy fight? I read an article that Microsoft hired a company to vote a certain way at next board of directors meeting?

And what would Microsoft gain from owning yahoo?

Well, Microsoft wants more internet exposure since MSN is not working out. And some say that it wants to control the world.

All Microsoft needs to do is buy enough shares of stock to vote a slate of directors who will elect a board of directors that will go along with their plans.

And what would Microsoft gain from owning yahoo?

They'll have a legitimate reason to change the company name to MiHoo.

Increase market share for ad revenue

Search engine with strong exposure (haven't bothered to look, but I'd imagine Yahoo's search engine compares favorably to live.com and msn)

More content

More inroads with more developers (unless they blow it)

And, c'mon, acquisions, hostile or otherwise, are just plain fun.

What is a proxy fight? I read an article that Microsoft hired a company to vote a certain way at next board of directors meeting?

Shareholders get to vote on proposals for all sorts of things, usually at the annual meetings. Normally these are quite boring. Normally, the shareholders designate someone else to vote their shares for or against these proposals, and the form they use is a proxy. Usually, the proxy assigns someone on the Board or some executive to vote those shares at the meeting on the shareholder's behalf. There are proxy companies that are hired by the actual companies voting on the proposals -- these proxy companies send out the proxies, collect and tabulate the votes, etc.