How do you keep track of passwords?

Lastpass hacked. This is why I elected not to use the cloud for password storage. (Having said that, I think it is impossible to be "safe". I heard on NPR 60-80% of SS numbers are already compromised). I am using 2-factor as much as possible for the sites where I can.

If you use LP, I suggest you open the link as they have suggestions for how to proceed.

Time to change your master password, LastPass was hacked

I try to remember a few passwords, those I use quite often. The rest I keep on two pieces of paper, torn in half (half of the password on each page). I have these squirreled away in different locations.

I've been using a system for probably two years now, and it is working well for me. No reliance on any tech. I usually find that a system that starts out OK sometimes falls apart after 6 months or so, so I'm confident this one is 'here to stay' for me. Here's a basic description of my system, you could modify in many ways for your own use:

A) I created a prefix that is ~ 5 char long, a mix of upper case, lower case, and numbers.

B) I created a suffix that is ~ 5 char long, lower case (to avoid multiple SHIFT key operations) and numbers.

C) A & B are committed to memory (also written down away from the computer) - they are short enough and the mnemonic is easy for me to remember.

D) For every site that I feel I need security, I have a log of the site address (or just a reminder of what it would be), and I create a unique, short, simple 'key' for that site - like local bank might be "lclbnk" - I write down that "key", as "-lclbnk-" and it is of no use to anyone, because the actual PW is my prefix&lclbnk&suffix. And the combined PW is pretty complex, yet simple to recall.

E) For sites where I don't really care about security, I use a common, easy to remember and type PW with a mix of U/L and numbers, so it works at almost every site.

Works for me.

-ERD50