Landlord woes

donothing

Dryer sheet aficionado
I know there are probably many on here that have rental property. Some renters can be nightmares. I have good tenants now but I was just thinking about the ones previous to them. I knew they were dirtbags but they had the cash and the deposit so I let them rent. To shorten the story to the end, after the water was cut off from non payment they kept living there. No electricity, they stayed. No rent, had to go to the magistrate and get them evicted. The mess they left behind was beyond belief. Paths of greasy filth where they walked dirty (no water for bathing). The first day after they were gone I hauled off all of their found on the street "furniture". The second day I started painting, had the carpet professionally cleaned etc. At this point I was only mad at myself because I knew this was coming. What made me mad beyond belief was that just by chance I walked to the back edge of the property and found their dog tied to a fence! This was 3 days after they had gone! No water, no food, nothing! First, I ran and got the dog water. Then I went down to the nearest store and got food. I called the SPCA and was surprised that they sent an investigator out. They got all of the info I had and were planning to charge the people for cruelty. They took the dog and I hope he got adopted. I know lots of people run credit checks etc to attempt to get decent renters. Lots of other renter nightmares over the years but it earns way more money than a savings account.

I admire people who can deal with being a landlord, and I know it can be a good financial deal if you make the right property choices. However, your post only reminds me that no, this isn't for me. If I had properties, I actually would likely enjoy doing the maintenance and repairs, I sort of like that. But dealing with nasty people and their leavings, not so much. Good luck and glad you've got good tenants now...