Persistent smoke smell - what to do?

I am a retired builder and have rebuilt several fire damaged homes. You need to paint everything in that room with a product called Kilzs. This will help hide the smell of any smoke. Airing it out is also a big help but make sure everything has been cleaned!

Last edited:
I am a retired builder and have rebuilt several fire damaged homes. You need to paint everything in that room with a product called Kilzs. This will help hide the smell of any smoke. Airing it out is also a big help but make sure everything has been cleaned!

Ditto. I had a rental that the tennant smoked inside. It was terrible inside. I had it painted with Kilz & that pretty much solved it. I believe I re carpeted it too.

My first small old home was part of an estate in which the old lady died. She must have been a very heavy smoker. The first thing I did was to wash and bleach all the walls that were so thick with smoke stain that it looked like molasses dripping down with the cleaners. Then the old wood floors needed refinishing so I sanded and urethane finished the wood. The processes took a few weeks. It was an old beach house in Florida that had no air conditioning and only an attic fan that sounded like an airplane taking off. But once I cleaned and painted and kept air circulated from outside with the attic fan the odor faded away with time. It was not a quick fix.

Cheers!

This tells me the smell is coming from the subfloor, same as if a dog/cat had peed a few times in the room.

Takes me back to pull up the carpet, paint the floor, caulk around the edge and put the carpet back down and clean it.

But now that I have looked up Ozone generators , they are cheap. So I'd empty the room, go out for the day, maybe do it a few times.
https://www.homedepot.com/s/ozone%20generator?NCNI-5

If it doesn't work, you can always return the device and tell them it doesn't work as maybe that one is defective, how does one know it produces ozone :confused: