Using POA for Parent

Katsmeow

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I would like some feedback on the nuts and bolts of using a power of attorney for a parent. I understand the legal part of it (I'm an attorney) but haven't had personal experience using one in this situation.

My mother is 94 and in poor health. She has been living on her own and managing things on her own. She is forgetful but has been competent to do that. I've had her durable power of attorney (and her health care POA) for many years but I've never had occasion to use them.

About a month ago she was hospitalized for heart failure and spent a few weeks in the hospital/rehab. She went home and a couple of days later fell (due to low blood sugar) and is not back in rehab (after being in the hospital a few days).

She wants me to handle all of her bill paying and money for her. Until now I've lived a few hours away from her. But we recently moved near to where she is (we are living in a short term apartment until we find a house).

So far she can still sign checks but I think she would prefer I just do everything. So questions on how using a POA actually goes:

1. She has a contract with Terminix that I can't get a clear answer on what it is. I don't mind paying it off (well, having her pay it off) but I don't want to renew it. I need to call Terminix and talk to them. For those using a POA for a parent, in those kinds of situation will they typically talk to me on the phone or make me send in a copy of the POA first?