Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Computer Networking Question
Old 03-07-2008, 11:09 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 192
Computer Networking Question

Hopefully someone here can either give me advice or point me somewhere. I know it should be simple -- but then I'm just a simpleton

My parents have a desktop PC at their home. It has high speed internet. I'm not sure whether it's cable or DSL. I know it's "Comcast" for what that's worth.

My mom just bought a Macbook laptop.

They want to network their computers so that the Macbook can access the internet from anywhere in the house via wireless connection. The idea is to go through the PC desktop for internet access.

1. How do we go about doing this? I've heard something about needing a router, but I don't really know . . .

2. What other information (if any) do I need before I can determine what we need.

3. When I go to visit, will my Macbook automatically pick up their wireless signal? Will my sister's PC laptop automatically pick it up?

Thanks in advance. I know a thing or two about finances, but very little about computers . . .
__________________

__________________
Niko is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-07-2008, 11:25 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
OAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central, Ohio, USA
Posts: 2,598
Comcast is Cable. Need a Wireless Router. #3 Partly yes, after you sign on. You may have to wait until you go there to install it - they can be a bit Techie - also you need to really brush up or lean the security measures with Wireless. Net Gear wireless router is what I use for my Desktop and Notebook. When grandkids come over they just have to sign on and they have access. Should not be a problem for the Mac to sign on your Parents system as well as the Sister.
__________________

__________________
Vietnam Veteran, CW4 USA, Retired 1979
OAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 11:29 AM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RunningBum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,180
Right now they have a cable or DSL modem/router that has one connection from their phone line or cable in the wall, and another connection to the desktop.

You have two choices. You can buy a replacement for this router that has wireless capability built in. Or you can buy a separate wireless router that will sit between the current modem and the desktop. I recommend the latter as it's easier and cheaper. If you want less clutter, buy the all-in-one, but you'll have to configure the internet connection as was done when the modem was first set up.

So instead of having the cable run straight from the modem to the desktop, you have two connections: one from the modem to the wireless router, and another from the wireless router to the desktop. You see, in addition to having wireless capability, the wireless router will also have wired ports available on the back. Make sure you use the right one for the connection from the modem, and then you can use any of the others (usually 4) to the desktop.

From there it should all work. You'll have a wide open unsecured signal that any laptop with a wireless card can pick up the signal from, just as if they walked into any publicly accessible wireless hotspot.

Now, once you've got this working, you should set up some security, because anyone can mooch off the wireless signal.

First thing to do is to change the router's password. It comes with a default, and someone else can log in with it and shut you out and probably do more malicious things. Instructions will be in the manual.

Second this is to set up some kind of wireless security. This will limit who can access your network. You don't want to share your network with a neighbor who is downloading movies. Or kiddie porn, because it will track to your internet connection. So check the manual on setting up WEP or WPA security. WPA is better. Each laptop that wants to connect in will have to configure a profile to use the wireless, using the same security key.

It's a bit more complicated to set up security but it's worth it, in my opinion.
__________________
RunningBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 11:58 AM   #4
Recycles dryer sheets
boilerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niko View Post

1. How do we go about doing this? I've heard something about needing a router, but I don't really know . . .
There are several companies that make wireless routers with varying features. A good basic one can be found here

D-Link - RangeBooster G Wireless Router - WBR-2310

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niko View Post
2. What other information (if any) do I need before I can determine what we need.
Each laptop will need to have a wireless card to connect wirelessly. Most laptops will also have standard ethernet plug that you could use to plug direct into the router.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Niko View Post
3. When I go to visit, will my Macbook automatically pick up their wireless signal? Will my sister's PC laptop automatically pick it up?
It will once the laptops are setup to connect to your new wireless network. As previously posted, you really need to apply some sort of security to your network. Any security that includes a password is better than none. You might want to ask a tech-savy friend to help. I helped out lots of folks get setup and if you're not pretty good with computers, networks can be difficult.
__________________
boilerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 05:39 PM   #5
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 192
Thank you very much for your quick replies. Boilerman, I'll take a look at the router you recommend. Everyone else, I'll make sure that there is some sort of security in place. First thing, though, is to get some kind of connection going for them.
__________________
Niko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 01:37 AM   #6
Recycles dryer sheets
whitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 415
Actually Apple makes one called the Extreme Base Station, which is very simple to set up, and provides the security you need to configure. A little higher price then the others mentioned here, but the convenience can be worth it. Supports all PCs and Macs, and will provide the automatic address you asked about.
__________________

__________________
Mens ability to see the future is limited by their horizons of today!
Unknown!
whitestick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COmputer question............ FinanceDude Other topics 23 11-26-2007 09:53 AM
Networking Question TromboneAl Other topics 8 11-21-2007 06:27 PM
Question for Computer Gurus TexasGal Other topics 24 09-10-2007 08:05 PM
Computer question Jay_Gatsby Other topics 8 12-14-2006 07:47 PM
Computer Question? Gonzo Other topics 3 06-13-2006 10:18 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:49 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.