Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2016, 04:46 PM   #21
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Miami
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golden sunsets View Post
ElizabethT
I think your comment was totally unnecessary.


Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum
Math's explanation was acceptable but we should not be so sensitive to a little constructive criticism.
__________________

__________________
FIRE July 2015
Blueskies123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-05-2016, 07:28 AM   #22
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 462
I wonder if it was a problem at Fidelity. Last Friday, I was on and when I changed screens (to Full View I think). I got a warning that since I was located in a prohibited country, Treasure Regulations prohibit me from accessing those features of my account. What it meant was any access to my account. I called and left a message at the problem desk, explaining that I was in the same chair in the same house in Greensboro, NC that I had always been in, and I thought it was strange that all of a sudden I was banned from my account. I tried again on Saturday (after 2 reboots and clearing the location from Google maps etc) and I got in. The call back on Wednesday said that I should verify my account information and the gentleman implied that there may have been a software glitch on their end.
__________________

__________________
Taxman59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 08:19 AM   #23
Recycles dryer sheets
CaliKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cali
Posts: 383
Thanks for sharing. It's interesting about them wanting you to clean your computer.

I am curious why they make you get a new account number though. It seems like once they stopped the threat, by changing log-in info, what's the big deal about an account number? It seems my financial institution account numbers (and routing) are on every check that gets sent all over the universe anyway; practically public info.
__________________
______________________
Hoping to get out around September 1, 2022... I hope, I hope, I hope. Until then off to work I go....
CaliKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 09:11 AM   #24
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaliKid View Post
Thanks for sharing. It's interesting about them wanting you to clean your computer.

I am curious why they make you get a new account number though. It seems like once they stopped the threat, by changing log-in info, what's the big deal about an account number? It seems my financial institution account numbers (and routing) are on every check that gets sent all over the universe anyway; practically public info.
While you are correct the account number is not that secret. It's also part of the data elements that are protected by identify theft laws. So I understand the change. Also some of these types of practice come from "Auditor Monthly Journal".
__________________
MRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 10:30 AM   #25
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,114
n
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxman59 View Post
I wonder if it was a problem at Fidelity. Last Friday, I was on and when I changed screens (to Full View I think). I got a warning that since I was located in a prohibited country, Treasure Regulations prohibit me from accessing those features of my account. What it meant was any access to my account. I called and left a message at the problem desk, explaining that I was in the same chair in the same house in Greensboro, NC that I had always been in, and I thought it was strange that all of a sudden I was banned from my account. I tried again on Saturday (after 2 reboots and clearing the location from Google maps etc) and I got in. The call back on Wednesday said that I should verify my account information and the gentleman implied that there may have been a software glitch on their end.
wow , I did see that message flash for a second before I was locked out .but they did confirm my wife's info was on a under ground site.


did it happen around 4-5pm est ?
__________________
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 11:31 AM   #26
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathjak107 View Post
n

wow , I did see that message flash for a second before I was locked out .but they did confirm my wife's info was on a under ground site.


did it happen around 4-5pm est ?
I have two email addresses that are on compromised sites. I always get alerts from identity protection company that this is so. I use random secure passwords for those. And of course those addresses are no longer used for login.

If the login and PIN were found on a site, that is almost the worst new you could get.

Good luck with the account move. Sounds like a good idea. Also review how the attack may have happened, as the bad guy could be nearby.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 11:58 AM   #27
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,114
my wife has not logged in for months and months . my guess is the info was leaked from internal sources somewhere . I am logged in daily so the stolen info would have been mine most likely mine if it was from the computer
__________________
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 12:07 PM   #28
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathjak107 View Post
did it happen around 4-5pm est ?
About 4:30, I was just trying to check the closing prices for the weekend. How did you know?
__________________
Taxman59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 12:51 PM   #29
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,114
that was the time I got locked out too.

perhaps it was software glitch and the folks in the risk dept were not aware . now I am wondering if the story we got was really the deal .......
__________________
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 01:26 PM   #30
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathjak107 View Post
that was the time I got locked out too.

perhaps it was software glitch and the folks in the risk dept were not aware . now I am wondering if the story we got was really the deal .......
That happens frequently, the only folks who know about systems changes are in the IT area. Most of my career was spent attempting not to talk with the business.

(They always wine about customers issues.)
__________________
MRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 02:47 PM   #31
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,475
I got locked out last Friday afternoon, too. I saw that "prohibited country" message for an instant, too. After calling a phone rep, I was told my account # and login password (and screen name, perhaps, I forget) were found somewhere in the "darknet."


The phone rep said I had to get my PC "professionally cleaned" even though my 2 anti-spyware scans (Malwarebytes and Windows Defender) came up clean. This annoyed me a lot. I have also lost access to their automated phone system, as I can only speak to phone reps to get info or to make trades. That actually isn't that big a deal because I rarely initiate any transactions. So, I have done nothing to try to regain automated phone or internet access to my accounts.


I think Fidelity's request for me to get my PC "professionally cleaned" is overkill. It's a nuisance not worth the time, cost, and effort to get my access back. I have used internet access for Fidelity for only a few years so losing it isn't a big deal.


Fidelity mentioned a few weeks ago that they will introduce a new, extra layer of security for certain transactions. This can be entering a texted code to make trades, for example. That's fine with me.


If Fidelity wants me to make a new username or password, that's fine. If they want to give me a new account number, that's fine. But I won't haul my PC to Geek Squad or some other outfit and wait around all day (or longer) for them to "clean" my PC.


No kudos to Fidelity from me.
__________________
Retired in late 2008 at age 45. Cashed in company stock, bought a lot of shares in a big bond fund and am living nicely off its dividends. IRA, SS, and a pension await me at age 60 and later. No kids, no debts.

"I want my money working for me instead of me working for my money!"
scrabbler1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 03:29 PM   #32
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,462
I do not use Fidelity for much. If I did, this series of reports above would cause me to look deeper into "professionally cleaned", and "dark web." Not that these don't exist, but I know for a fact the Geek Squard, for instance, is not gonna send a security specialist for $100.

I'd think, that at a minimum, they would ask you to change the account login and password. Is that possible with Fidelity? Haven't needed to login since liquidating the last of college money.

Also, get a linux boot cd that will have an AV software that can update live. A scan of the computer might reveal something. Wonder what Geek Squad does?
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 03:33 PM   #33
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dawg52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central MS/Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 7,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrabbler1 View Post
I got locked out last Friday afternoon, too. I saw that "prohibited country" message for an instant, too. After calling a phone rep, I was told my account # and login password (and screen name, perhaps, I forget) were found somewhere in the "darknet."


The phone rep said I had to get my PC "professionally cleaned" even though my 2 anti-spyware scans (Malwarebytes and Windows Defender) came up clean. This annoyed me a lot. I have also lost access to their automated phone system, as I can only speak to phone reps to get info or to make trades. That actually isn't that big a deal because I rarely initiate any transactions. So, I have done nothing to try to regain automated phone or internet access to my accounts.


I think Fidelity's request for me to get my PC "professionally cleaned" is overkill. It's a nuisance not worth the time, cost, and effort to get my access back. I have used internet access for Fidelity for only a few years so losing it isn't a big deal.


Fidelity mentioned a few weeks ago that they will introduce a new, extra layer of security for certain transactions. This can be entering a texted code to make trades, for example. That's fine with me.


If Fidelity wants me to make a new username or password, that's fine. If they want to give me a new account number, that's fine. But I won't haul my PC to Geek Squad or some other outfit and wait around all day (or longer) for them to "clean" my PC.


No kudos to Fidelity from me.
Seems odd this has happened to more than one here on the same afternoon. I will be watching my acct a little closer over the near term.
__________________
Retired 3/31/2007@52
Full time wuss.......
Dawg52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 05:05 AM   #34
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,114
yes very weird especially at the same time . .

we are still waiting for all the accounts to transfer .
__________________
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 05:06 AM   #35
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by target2019 View Post
I do not use Fidelity for much. If I did, this series of reports above would cause me to look deeper into "professionally cleaned", and "dark web." Not that these don't exist, but I know for a fact the Geek Squard, for instance, is not gonna send a security specialist for $100.

I'd think, that at a minimum, they would ask you to change the account login and password. Is that possible with Fidelity? Haven't needed to login since liquidating the last of college money.

Also, get a linux boot cd that will have an AV software that can update live. A scan of the computer might reveal something. Wonder what Geek Squad does?
what they require depends on the risk level . it is decided by the risk dept . you deal with a separate dept directly . some levels they let you do your own scan . others not .
__________________
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 10:18 AM   #36
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathjak107 View Post
what they require depends on the risk level . it is decided by the risk dept . you deal with a separate dept directly . some levels they let you do your own scan . others not .
What did geek squad actually do? Or was it different company?

I tried to login to Fidelity, but the old logins didn't work, and I have no real reason to go there, as the accounts were all emptied several years ago.

I know you can login to Vanguard and change your actual login on your own. Login should be random and as secure as they will allow. Same for password.

Of course each institution is different.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 06:49 PM   #37
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,114
i use a local computer guy who is pretty reasonable and good .
__________________
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 04:02 AM   #38
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,114
so far one account is moved and the rest may take another 2-3 days as of saturday's updated phone call .

they mailed out new checks and new debit cards , so basically we are still not up and functioning . it looks like the whole process may actually take about 2 weeks from beginning to end .
__________________
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 04:43 AM   #39
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
FIRE'd@51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,267
Did you have a brokerage account at Fido? I do a lot of option trading with them, and a shut down like this could be devastating if I couldn't roll expiring positions, etc. How would this be handled?
__________________
I'd rather be governed by the first one hundred names in the telephone book than the Harvard faculty - William F. Buckley
FIRE'd@51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 04:45 AM   #40
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,114
yes , and i can not trade at the moment .

the problem at this point is the new accounts are posted but still unfunded as the money is still in process being moved
__________________

__________________
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holding non-fidelity funds at fidelity panhead FIRE and Money 16 05-02-2013 07:37 AM
New Fidelity Fund JPatrick FIRE and Money 4 10-11-2005 08:00 AM
Fidelity Stategic Income (FSICX) kenepp1 FIRE and Money 6 06-14-2005 05:52 PM
Fidelity index funds with exp ratio 0.1% or less amt FIRE and Money 15 10-15-2004 04:17 PM
Fidelity vs vanguard customer service Roger_R FIRE and Money 9 07-01-2004 06:21 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:20 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.