Deluged with Rolex and Cartier advertisements...

rayinpenn

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Seems like everyday I am seeing Rolex and Cartier watch advertisements. I was always inclined to think -if you want to drop $14,000 dollars for a watch that's your business. The advertisements now say you can finance your Rolex and they tout what a great deal it is. Buying jewelry on time -- something about that feels so terribly wrong.

I could be wrong but I'm thinking although Rolls Royce probably also offers financing for their cars...

Other than some tasteful albeit a few expensive pieces for DW, never have seen the allure of jewelry, and that's all a Rolex is. I've been debating about actually acquiring my first watch since phones were showing time, and a Timex would certainly do it. However, splurged on the Apple watch, being afraid I'd regret it as a gimmick. After a few days I'm still learning features, and actually think it was worth the $400. Fun toy. Can even choose a Mickey or Minnie Mouse face! Now that's value!

I have had 3 Rolex Watches in my Life, my wife has had 2. Currently I have a Sub and she has an oyster ladies, the ones we have sold in the past to make room and help fund the ones we have now, we sold for around 35-45% more than what we paid for them New.

I have no desire for a Rolex or other expensive watch but if I did I would be very careful where I bought it. There are so many fake Rolex's out there I would only buy from a reputable dealer and would be very leery of any unsolicited ads received.

Have a good friend who's in financial business and accompanied me and DW on business trip to NY. He'd done ALL :LOL: the research on fake vs real Rolex's and spent $2-300 on one on Canal St he KNEW was real. It wasn't. :facepalm: