Just quit, feeling panicky

tmitchell

Recycles dryer sheets
I’m brand new to freedom. Quit my job last October and have been consulting since, but that’s ending next week.

I find myself feeling a mild panic now. Is this normal? I’m also having a hard time shifting away from a saving mindset. The numbers seem fine but I’m not feeling all the warm fuzzies I thought I would. I haven’t decided what I’m retiring “to” other than more time.

Anyone have thoughts on this?

Take a deep breath. Yes it is normal.
Give yourself some time to fully settle into retirement. Don't force yourself into the "what will I do all day" question/answer period. You need some time to fully detox from work.
You will find things to do and soon be amazed you had time to work at all!

There have been many threads related to this, that all have great info.

Seeing past posts about your net worth indicates your panic is much ado about nothing.

I highly recommend focusing on enjoying your new freedom rather than stressing about things that you need not be concerned about.

Why ruin a perfectly good retirement, something you worked decades to achieve, with needless worry?

Retirement, like a mind, is a terrible thing to waste. :)

Suggestion: make a list of what you have always wanted to do or what you really enjoyed before your work life took over. Then try those things out.

Take a deep breath. Yes it is normal.

What she said.

Yes it is normal. It is a huge life change, and in many cases irreversible. Of course you're concerned!

We had the same concerns too. By leaving the D.C. metro area and moving to West Virginia for a better quality of life we left a lot of money on the table. Almost anyone would have second thoughts about that. Six months later we went to see my sister in northern VA and the first thing she said when she saw us was "You two look more relaxed than I've seen you in years".

We knew right then we'd made the right choice.

Retirement is a process not an event.