Submarine Accident

I work in the electric utility industry where fire suppression systems often use CO2 or halon. I wasn't aware that freon (which the story reported) was used for that purpose. Nords would be the guy who has the facts on this type of system.

Betcha the system used Halon, which is a lovely fire suppressor which leaves no residue and doesn't screw up the valves it passes through, allowing multiple use valves. Halon is clear and sinks, displacing oxygen. Also banned from most uses as it affects the ozone layer. Bet Freon was incorrect in the story.

Freon is a trade name for a number of different compounds, which are also known as haloalkanes. I am aware that certain freon compounds are used for fire suppression in certain applications, such as in hot rods and the space shuttle (Freon 1301). I don't recall having any freon fire suppression in my USN submarines (although that was over 22 years ago). We did, however, have freon in our air conditioning plants (Freon 12),(running a steam plant in a submarine generates a lot of heat and requires substantial air conditioning), and people have died as a consequence of Freon leaks from the AC plant.

I do recall reading about the loss of the Soviet submarine K-219 in 1986, which suffered an explosion in the missile compartment, and somewhere in that was a discussion about using the freon fire suppression system, so I presume the Russians use it still.

This is very sad and very avoidable. It sounds like the sub was filled with extra personnel-- shipyard workers or staff riders-- and many were injured by Freon inhalation?

Twenty die in Russian nuclear sub accident | International | Reuters