Votes: 27 30.0%
  • Yes I have but only twice

Votes: 11 12.2%
  • Yes I have but only three times

Votes: 3 3.3%
  • Yes I have more than three times

Votes: 12 13.3%

• Total voters
Yeah, several times, but only because I worked as a Resident Assistant to put myself through college and there were several very large, very loud, very alcohol-flavored parties I wasn't keen on breaking up myself. So I called our state troopers for backup.

Nothing breaks up a dorm room party like a couple big, old, state troopers. Loved 'em, especially since they'd ask me "do you want MIPs written, or just the party busted up." Unless it was a recurring issue we usually just had them break up the party and dump the booze.

I called the cops once while working for the county, too.

As far as non-job-related calls go, only one -- a car nearly ran down a pedestrian in the crosswalk on a busy street in our town, and then proceeded to run a red light. I called the cops for that but was told that it takes three consecutive misdemeanors within a small period to do a citizen's arrest. Too bad -- three people had been killed in that crosswalk that year by drivers who didn't stop and I was pretty p-o'd about it.

In a previous neighborhood, the tenants across the street were so noisy that I offered to discuss the issue with their landlord. He opined me that he found my demeanor threatening and he called the police to complain about my intimidating assault. Unfortunately he'd forgotten about his outstanding bench warrants, and he moved out soon after [-]making bail[/-] that. Best case of poetic justice I've ever witnessed.

These days we live on a bluff overlooking a gulch with a highway running across it. Twice, late at night, I've called 911 for vehicles leaving the highway and hitting the bluff hard enough to shake us awake. No survivors either time but the police were able to prevent further accidents while cleanup was in progress.