How to share pics with overseas relative?

omni550

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I took about 500 digital pics during my travels when I recently visited a relative overseas. I'd like to share them with her...and with possibly one or two others.

I'm guessing that she may want to download and/or print some of these pics.

I have zero experience with Google Drive, Photobucket or any other similar site. I'm hoping for something free /cheap with a short learning curve.

Any suggestions/recommendations? I'm on a PC and she's got an iPad, if that makes any difference.

omni

There are a lot of file sharing sites out there for free. Places like box.com and others. You upload the file, she downloads it. You can delete it after she downloads.

I used google drive to share pics with my husbands Italian cousins. I marked the folder as private - then emailed them invites - which unlocked it for them. They can download the pics or add comments online.

I use Dropbox.

Set up a "Public" Folder (giving only them access to it, if you want) and send them the URL in an e-mail. They will install Dropbox on their computer and you each can access the Folder locally. That way you don't have to worry about file size except if it goes over the Free 2 GBs. And you can each add to or subtract files so that it can become a long term project if desired.

Google Drive as noted above or Google Plus if they have an account.

Google drive is very easy. Make a folder, upload the pictures, and share it.

Dropbox is useful also.

For the two solutions it will be very easy to upload and also for the other to download if they want...

I use a combination of Picasa to manage pictures, and it links to my gmail account. I decide what to synchronize, and can mail out the link, or let the software send an email to the other person.

I use dropbox for misc files and Flickr for photos.