Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Computer question: Why is my time/clock stopping?
Old 01-03-2010, 03:41 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,323
Computer question: Why is my time/clock stopping?

Several times lately I have had to change the time on my computer clock in the gadgets section (so it shows on the screen saver). I never had this problem before. Does anyone know what is causing this?
It's bizzare as I haven't unplugged the computer or touched it in any way to have the time on the clock stop and show like 2 hours behind. Weird. What's happening?
__________________

__________________
Please consider adopting a rescue animal. So very many need a furr-ever home and someone to love them! And if we all spay/neuter our pets there won't be an overpopulation to put to death.
Orchidflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-03-2010, 04:38 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Gotadimple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,760
There is a battery that powers the internal clock. If it's not keeping time, it may need to be replaced. You have to open up the computer to do that.
__________________

__________________
Only got A dimple, would have preferred 2!
Gotadimple is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 04:46 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gotadimple View Post
There is a battery that powers the internal clock.
Is this problem on a laptop?
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 06:01 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Following the nice weather
Posts: 6,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
Is this problem on a laptop?
Not sure if I'm reading your question right, but yes, laptops have the coin batteries too. They aren't too hard to replace, but you'll need to find a Service Manual, or Hardware Maintenance Manual, for your product. The coin battery is attached to the motherboard, which is usually under the biggest panel under your laptop. Replacing it is easy, although you may have to pry it off. They glue them down sometimes. Look in the manual to be sure.
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement." - Will Rogers, or maybe Sam Clemens
DW and I - FIREd at 50 (7/06), living off assets
harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 06:30 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by harley View Post
Not sure if I'm reading your question right, ...
Actually, I was asking OrchidFlower if the problem was with a laptop computer... as apposed to a desktop version. I know everyone jumped to that conclusion but I simply wanted confirmation before sticking my nose in.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 06:42 PM   #6
Moderator
ziggy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 15,612
If the computer has not been unplugged, battery issues should be completely moot.
__________________
"Hey, for every ten dollars, that's another hour that I have to be in the work place. That's an hour of my life. And my life is a very finite thing. I have only 'x' number of hours left before I'm dead. So how do I want to use these hours of my life? Do I want to use them just spending it on more crap and more stuff, or do I want to start getting a handle on it and using my life more intelligently?" -- Joe Dominguez (1938 - 1997)

RIP to Reemy, my avatar dog (2003 - 9/16/2017)
ziggy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 09:22 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,323
Yes, it is a laptop. Does that make a difference, RonBoyd?
And computer not been unplugged, Ziggy29.
This has happened enough that I am getting concerned. And it always happens when I come back to the computer after some hours. Never happens while I'm using it.
__________________
Please consider adopting a rescue animal. So very many need a furr-ever home and someone to love them! And if we all spay/neuter our pets there won't be an overpopulation to put to death.
Orchidflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 08:45 AM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orchidflower View Post
Yes, it is a laptop. Does that make a difference, RonBoyd?
And computer not been unplugged, Ziggy29.
I was wondering along the same lines as Ziggy29's observation. Desktops rarely have a battery problem.

Anyway, if you click on the Time at the right bottom of your screen a window will open. Click on "Change date and time settings." What are the settings in the "Internet Time" tab?

I use 'time-a.nist.gov' and set to "automatically sychronize on a scheduled basis."

Confirm that your settings are similar, then we can go forward.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:48 AM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RunningBum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
I was wondering along the same lines as Ziggy29's observation. Desktops rarely have a battery problem.

Anyway, if you click on the Time at the right bottom of your screen a window will open. Click on "Change date and time settings." What are the settings in the "Internet Time" tab?

I use 'time-a.nist.gov' and set to "automatically sychronize on a scheduled basis."

Confirm that your settings are similar, then we can go forward.
I think you need to ask which OS she's running. In XP you have to edit the registry setting.
__________________
RunningBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:58 AM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunningBum View Post
I think you need to ask which OS she's running. In XP you have to edit the registry setting.
Hmmmm. My XP Machine has the same window (Date Time Properties) as the Vista and Windows 7 machines.

Anyway, I was just looking for a place to start the diagnostics. Any additional information should be useful.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 10:59 AM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RunningBum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
Hmmmm. My XP Machine has the same window (Date Time Properties) as the Vista and Windows 7 machines.

Anyway, I was just looking for a place to start the diagnostics. Any additional information should be useful.
OK, my personal XP laptop has this. My work one that I checked first does not, and when I googled, the first hit I got showed how to do it via the registry. Either corp IT has turned this off or the image isn't as up to date as mine. So, never mind what I said.
__________________
RunningBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 09:36 AM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,323
Yes, is an XP.
RonBoyd, I cannot find that time-a.nist.gov thing at all. However, all is set to Central time US.
What's odd to me is that the clock works almost all the time, but, once in awhile--and only when I have put the computer on sleep and then return to the computer--the time jumps forward.

I think I may have figured it out, but we'll see: the time zone was somehow not correct.
Will be watching this for the next few days, and will let you know if the clock jumps forward again.

(Now I'm wondering how the time zone got screwed up? When did it happen?)
__________________
Please consider adopting a rescue animal. So very many need a furr-ever home and someone to love them! And if we all spay/neuter our pets there won't be an overpopulation to put to death.
Orchidflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:16 AM   #13
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orchidflower View Post
Yes, is an XP.
RonBoyd, I cannot find that time-a.nist.gov thing at all. However, all is set to Central time US.
Okay... now is the time to ask; what operating system are you using?

Since Windows 2000 (and perhaps before) the bar at the bottom of the screen has the time in the right side.

Time.JPG

In this case it is to the right of the sound icon.

If you click on that (the time) you will open a window that at the bottom has a link to "Change Date and Time Settings." This will open up this window:

Time 2.JPG (Doggone it. Not the right image -- although the correct window -- and I don't know how to edit this.)

If you click on the Internet Tab, you will open this window:

Time 3.JPG

If you click on "Change Settings": it will open this window:

Time 4.JPG

At "Server:" click on the down arrow. There will be a list of Time servers. Pick the one that is closest to you -- or simply try each to test.

Anyway, I am unsure that this will solve your problem but it will rule out the most common time problem.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:21 AM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orchidflower View Post
And it always happens when I come back to the computer after some hours.
Another thought: You need to be connected to the Internet to have the time constantly updated. If the machine loses time while it is disconnected (asleep?), then it would be a battery/memory issue.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:24 AM   #15
Moderator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 21,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orchidflower View Post
(Now I'm wondering how the time zone got screwed up? When did it happen?)
Aliens.
__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:03 PM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ls99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,792
Uh, Win2K pro does not have the internet time sync feature. I use a program called "About Time" for time corrections.
__________________
There must be moderation in everything, including moderation.
ls99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:20 PM   #17
Full time employment: Posting here.
cantlogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pocono Mtns.
Posts: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan View Post
Aliens.

It's an "undocumented" feature of the operating system.

__________________
cantlogin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:59 PM   #18
Moderator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 21,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by cantlogin View Post
It's an "undocumented" feature of the operating system.
I'm very familiar with these, even with hugely expensive computers designed to run chemical plants

We built and then commissioned a new plant that came on line last June. The computers that run it include 3 redundant pairs of controllers and ever since March last year we have had a pair lose redundancy and it takes 10 seconds to click on the controller icon and tell it to re-boot. It happens to all 3 pairs and it never fails to regain it's redundant status so why can't it attempt to re-establish without human intervention? Also no reason why the shaow computer drops out anyway. This has happened many, many times on all 3 pairs of controllers, and the manufacturer (a very large vendor, with 30+ years experience) just cannot seem to find out or why or fix it. It started happening again this week and a few weeks respite and it was thought the latest firmware upgrades had fixed the problem.
__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 06:41 PM   #19
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Following the nice weather
Posts: 6,418
A little off topic, but it appears there's a Godmode capability in Windows 7 that also works in the 32 bit version of Vista. It's pretty cool. It allows you to control hundreds of administrator functions from a single folder (including clock functions). This isn't a joke, and it's easy to do.

Posted on ZDNet News: Jan 05, 2010 5:18:10 AM

Although its name suggests perhaps even grander capabilities, Windows enthusiasts are excited over the discovery of a hidden "GodMode" feature that lets users access all of the operating system's control panels from within a single folder.

To enter "GodMode," one need only create a new folder and then rename the folder to the following:

GodMode.{ED7BA470-8E54-465E-825C-99712043E01C}

Users are able to have a single place to do everything from changing the look of the mouse pointer to making a new hard-drive partition.

The trick is also said to work in Windows Vista, although some are warning that although it works fine in 32-bit versions of Vista , it can cause 64-bit versions of that operating system to crash.

For more, read "Understanding Windows 7's 'GodMode'" from CNET News.
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement." - Will Rogers, or maybe Sam Clemens
DW and I - FIREd at 50 (7/06), living off assets
harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 06:45 PM   #20
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,323
Thanks, Ron, for the explanation, and I've done that each time the clock wasn't set right.
This is my 3rd computer with the last two being Dells. I have always put the computer on sleep or hibernate when I leave the room with each computer, and I have never ever had this problem before. It's not a big problem, but it is puzzling as to why it's even happening. It's just bizarre is all.
I'm using Vista, a Dell Inspiron 1525 and a 6 (or however you refer to it), so maybe that's why Dell doesn't like it either. Maybe a whole bunch of Dell Vista folks have had lots of problems, but I know they aren't keen on this model; and they have told me they've had lots of complaints about it. It's only a year old, so too early to replace it, too.
__________________

__________________
Please consider adopting a rescue animal. So very many need a furr-ever home and someone to love them! And if we all spay/neuter our pets there won't be an overpopulation to put to death.
Orchidflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer question.......... Dawg52 Other topics 19 10-18-2009 10:10 PM
COmputer question............ FinanceDude Other topics 23 11-26-2007 09:53 AM
65% Spend More Time with Their Computer than Their Spouse soupcxan Other topics 11 01-25-2007 04:48 PM
Computer Question? Gonzo Other topics 3 06-13-2006 10:18 AM
Next Time You Replace A Computer - Laptop, Desktop, Tablet or ? Danny Other topics 37 05-03-2006 06:19 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:07 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.