Saved some money today

street

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I have a 2008 Chevy Colorado and it is my bum around pickup. It has 110,000 and was in need of brake pads and rear brake shoes. Well to get it done they said it would cost about 750 and I believe that included the parts.

Well this morning I decided to go price the pads and shoes and tackle the job myself. I'm no mechanic but can do some of the work if I try. Lol

Well it took me 7 hours to do and of course run into many issues but got it done and they work great. It cost me 100 bucks in parts. Lol

I was so tried after that one shot would of put me down! Lol

Good job.. Drum brakes can be tricky. Those springs and shoe pad adjustment can be a PITA... I get a lot of satisfaction doing my own car maintenance too, not to mention the big $ saved....

I have a 2008 Chevy Colorado and it is my bum around pickup. It has 110,000 and was in need of brake pads and rear brake shoes. Well to get it done they said it would cost about 750 and I believe that included the parts.

Well this morning I decided to go price the pads and shoes and tackle the job myself. I'm no mechanic but can do some of the work if I try. Lol

Well it took me 7 hours to do and of course run into many issues but got it done and they work great. It cost me 100 bucks in parts. Lol

Nice save, I know in advance i would not be able to do what you did. I own a tire pressure gauge. I tried to replace the windshield wipers once. After installation i turned on the switch and they flew off the arms. I was thrilled i didnt scratch the windshield.:LOL:

I saved over $200 on a brake job recently, through a different technique. Dealership quoted a price (which included turning the rotors). Went to Firestone for a second opinion. "Rotors are OK". Saved over $200. 10,000 miles and 7 months later, brakes are still working great.