Who here is getting close to capitulation? (Or how much more can you stomach?)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Still working and still pouring money down the rat hole.

I am getting close to lacing my morning coffee that I enjoy when the pre-market opens. The IRA which I am drawing a 72T from is down about 30% from it's summer time high. The 401K is still at Mega Corp and down 40% from the summer but over 50% YTD. I buy and sell a bit each week and try to keep a few stocks in the green. If this keeps up I may have to seek employment late next year. If it stabilizes within the next 10% to 20% I can hang tough and ride it out.

Thank God I built the wetbar into my home office! Just call me the tipsy trader!

PS I forgot the fun account! A baby Roth (2 years of contributions) I started trading in the month of August. Last week it was up over 100% YTD then the losses hit. It is still up 60% YTD. Now if markets calm a good bit I can start growing it and the others again!

Last edited:
buy-buy-buy

I am down 23% ytd! I think there is a lot of capitulation going on. Wish there were more! It would make me feel better about buying! Just prior to close of buisness today- I purchased Citi, BofA, GE,Ford and GM. They are much cheaper than they were.

I'm not paying too much attention to the day to day numbers, get most of that info here. Been reading madly working on my asset allocation, trying to understand bonds and also working on my tax situation for this year, seeing if we are poor enough to convert some money to a Roth. Trying to get some info from my soon-to-be-ex FA so I can make good decisions about bailing on the investments I'm in with him in order to move all my (remaining) money over to Vanguard.

I see this situation as an opportunity for me to remedy some poor decisions made over the years. I know it's painful, but since it's happening anyway I'm going to make the best of it.