Weight loss

Sorry to hear about your late wife.

My wife worked in a hospital as an OR surgical nurse. She said that many surgeons refused to work with fat nurses in the OR during long surgical procedures because of their complaints about standing on their feet for long periods. One surgeon told a nurse to "get her fat ass out" and stop complaining and then got a harassment complaint against her. It's sad to see so many obese healthcare workers. .

I was an OR nurse for forty years and if any surgeon said that to one of the nurses every nurse in the department would be on strike .

Totally agreed. That's why in my post I specifically acknowledged "there but for the grace of God go I" conditions. Stuff happens. My uncle, a gloriously-built marathon runner who wouldn't permit white bread in the house, dropped dead of a heart attack at age 42. We all have similar examples. We still need to prevent what's preventable.

I understand folks getting frustrated with US obesity rates rising and impacts. But I really wonder whether that’s a major driver of the increasing costs of medical care. I suspect the impact is not as large as from expensive to treat diseases that are not obesity related. Plenty of normal weight people get heart attacks, heck half of the heart attacks occur in people with healthy cholesterol levels!

I feel bad for folks living with obesity, but I guess I don’t automatically think about what they might be costing me.

This is a huge problem IMHO.
I had to change primary doctors recently because of this. He was projecting all his own personal medical problems onto me (and probably many of his patients).

Basically it was "I take this pill, therefore you should take it too." And not just drugs, but all sorts of lifestyle things. I was considerably healthier than he was, despite being older, but that didn't seem to count.